The Ultimate Fighters Darrill Schoonover


Darrill Schoonover

Darrill Schoonover

This past thursday, I got the chance to speak and ask a couple questions to Darrill Schoonover (of The Ultimate Fighter 10 Heavyweights) through http://www.Arlovski.com ‘s weekly MMA radio show.

Although he doesn’t look it, Darrill Schoonover is a guy to watch out for on this season of The Ultimate Fighter 10 heavyweights. Darrill starting training MMA techniques at the age of 17 in judo, bjj, wrestling and kickboxing. By the time Darrill was 19, he joined the United States Army. After the Army, he attended Central Texas College earning himself a degree in history. After that, he took up MMA professionally, he racked up an impressive 10-0 record with none of the fights going the distance. So like I said, this guy is a guy to watch out for on this season of The Ultimate Fighter. So lets get to my 3 questions (only one question is not relative to the season premier of The Ultimate Fighter).

ThatMMAGuy – What were you thinking when Dana White said that there was one more heavyweight coming into the gym that he has talked a lot of s**t on and out of nowhere Rampage says “Who is it?” “Tank Abbott”?

Darrill Schoonover – “hahahaha. Well, I would have to say that just like the other guys there, I found that comment pretty funny”.

ThatMMAGuy – hahaha. I thought it was very funny myself. Next question. What were you thinking when the fighter Dana White was talking about was Kimbo Slice?

Darrill Schoonover – “Well to be honest, I had heard rumors before that suggesting that Kimbo might be on the show and then I looked around and only saw 15 guys when there was supposed to be 16″. ” When he came through the door, I wasn’t really surprised or did I think anything of it”.

ThatMMAGuy – Cool, cool. Final question. What do you do to prepare yourself for a fight? Play cards, shoot pool, meditate, chill with friends or do you throw up like Abe Wagner?

Darrill Schoonover – “hahahah”. “Yeah I just chill and tried to stay relaxed.” “Being relaxed is very important in the fight game so I just try to stay relaxed and my friends are a big help with that”.

ThatMMAGuy – Awesome. Thanks man

Darrill Schoonover – “Yeah no problem buddy”.

I didn’t get to ask many questions because I was told before I called into the show that I would have to be very careful with my questions because I could not ask anything that might spoil results of The Ultimate Fighter. Darrill was very cool during his radio interview with the hosts at MMA weekly aswell with me. I would say that Darrill has a very good shot at taking the title of The Ultimate Fighter with his only real challenge may be Roy Nelson.

-ThatMMAGuy

Leave a Reply

